*Updated as of 2/16*

Mirina Collections once again has proved themselves to be the true con artists that they are. After updating my review and sharing my thoughts and feelings on the “new” Mirina Collections, I was then snubbed by them. I guess all of their original claims were too good to be true, they haven’t changed one bit. After I was snubbed I then began receiving comments on YouTube from girls that are still being approached by Mirina to be so called ambassadors, which only solidified my suspicions. I have reached out to Mirina several more times without response and now I will completely wash my hands of them. I would advise you to as well. I have poured through Amazon page after Amazon page looking for the exact items that Mirina is selling on their site for a bajillion dollars more than majority of retailers. Type in “Statement Necklaces” on Amazon and I promise you’ll find much better deals. Look at this!

These necklaces are literally just like the ones that they sell and they are a very, very small fraction of the price! 

*Updated as of 11/16*

Hey ladies! Have you heard of Mirina Collections? I’ve previously vented about my personal experiences several years ago with the company, and if you keep scrolling below, you can read about a fellow beauty blogger’s experience. Over the years Mirina Collections has gained quite a reputation, and unfortunately it’s not a very good one. However I am a huge believer in second chances, and when it came to my attention that the company was being re-branded, and under new management I was willing to give it another shot. So far, so good!

According to a rep for the new Mirina Collections the company is now owned by a department store and their main office is in New York, however, they ship their designs from their design
houses, which are found worldwide. There have been many changes in regards to the quality of their jewelry and other products and the structure of their comapny. They feel these changes align with the new owners long term goals for the company. After learning about the new ownership and changes throughout the company I was excited to see if they were going to come through because though they did have some ethical issues in the past I liked their stuff!

So what do I think now? Let’s start with trust and integrity. Thus far my experience with the company and their representatives has been fantastic! This is a HUGE change from my past experiences and certainly a step in the right direction as far as I am concerned. When dealing with a company I not only am hoping that I will receive quality products or merchandise, I also want to know that I that I am dealing with people who have integrity and who are going to have great customer service. The problem with Mirina Collections has never been their merchandise. Then, and now the merchandise is in my opinion is fantastic! The issue has always been their ethics. Their reputation unfortunately leaves them known as scammers and con artists. Though I have given the brand another shot, I shall proceed with caution, and I recommend that you do too! However I do think that they are worth another go around, simply based on their merchandise, because it is quality.

I received a package from Mirina, which included a “Famous” necklace, their “Amrezy” choker, a black velvet choker, a black lace up choker, a pair of reflective sunglasses, a pair of “Celine” glasses, and a pair of earrings.

img_3494

img_3518img_3467

img_3455

mirina-collections-reflective-glasses

 

The necklaces, and chokers are all high quality, they are made with thick metal, and the clasps are extremely durable. This is really important to me because I have purchased chokers from other stores that have fallen apart before I’ve even gotten them on, literally. I am willing to pay more for a piece of jewelry that I know is going to be durable and last, and I think Mirina Collections jewelry is of that quality, and worth the price tag. The “Amrezy” piece was my favorite, it is sooo stunning, and again high quality, I truly love this piece. The sunglasses are super cute, and definitely a great alternative to high end pairs. I won’t buy high end because I will lose them, break them, sit on them, etc. These are a great price, and very stylish, I love the Celine inspired shades because they are very Kardashian, but the price tag screams BrittWD if you know what I’m saying.

The new Mirina Collections has been featured in Jute magazine, and has received a myriad of postive reviews from fellow bloggers. Check out their website to click through some of those. Not only has their customer service changed, their site has changed, their packaging has changed, and their merchandise has changed! They have added on to their merchandise, including sunglasses, keychains, small purses, etc. Their site has been re-vamped, and their packaging updated. All signs point to positive changes! I hope Mirina Collections continues to push forward with these changes, and keeps their word!

So far, so good. I am giving the “new” Mirina Collections a thumbs up. Check them out, and if you have any reservations I really encourage you to reach out to them! I am sure that their representatives would be more than willing to answer any questions or concerns you may have with their company.

If you have any recent positive or negative experiences with Mirina please leave your experience in a comment below!!!

Happy, safe and educated shopping ladies 🙂

Below is the original post:

By: @melrose.elise

Hi Beauties!

2015 was a big year for me. After graduating college, I decided to develop my passion for beauty and Fashion. After a while of being on Instagram and investing my time into creating a social media presence, I was contacted by Mirina Collections. Instagram has become one of the biggest ways for businesses to promote their company and/or sell products. An initial e-mail was sent inviting me to be a part of the “Ambassador program” which included a “Free necklace” and all I had to cover was shipping costs.This was the first time I had ever been contacted by a company and of course I was thrilled! After accepting their offer, I was given a discount code that applied to the necklace of my choosing and only had to pay for shipping. I thought the shipping would be around $10, especially since the necklace would be shipped from Miami Beach to Orlando, Florida. I applied the code and noticed that only 75% was discounted after the code. My total for check-out was about $60. I e-mailed the Marketing Manager “Tiffany Rose” and was told the amount was only for “Weight cost”, because it was hand made, and that the system they have is “strange”…

tiffany @ mirina

 

I started to feel like I was being tricked so I decided not to buy the necklace. A couple of months passed by and although I was feeling skeptical, I decided to give it a try. After all, I wanted to be a part of the “Ambassador Program”… Here is an outline of the Benefits.

Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 11.14.20 PM

Income
A few Mirina Girls including myself, decided to test our unique discount codes for our followers to receive 20% off and none of them worked. A discount code was never created, it never existed. Nothing was being tracked. It’s safe to assume the “Extra” benefits were also a sham.
Shipping
After I decided to pay $80 for a Mirina Collections necklace, I waited three months for its arrival. Shipping from Miami Beach to Orlando, takes only a couple of days. Some reasons they would give Mirina girls for the necklaces taking so long was that regular customers were a priority. I would like to think that there is an organized system in place to prioritize those who are promoting you. Also, my necklace arrived in a small envelope. When shipping anything in an envelope, most carriers have a weight limit and charging $80 for this, is outrageous.

Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 11.24.52 PM Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 11.24.59 PM

Quality
The necklace I received was originally around $200. It was not as heavy as they made it out to be. The quality was like a statement piece from FOREVER21. Which I don’t mind if I am paying under $20 for it. My necklace was falling apart after a few days, and the attachments were unstable and kept falling.

Networking
As part of the Ambassador program, you are part of a closed Facebook group for Mirina Girls. I actually did benefit from the group and made a few friends, including one who lives in my area. You had the chance to share social media accounts, follow threads, and participate in give-aways. Mirina girls were famous for following you in order to gain followers, then unfollow you. I am part of many networking/blog groups on Facebook and Mirina was by far the worst. It was very unorganized, lacked structure, or any sort of rules for maintaining a positive, safe space for everyone. Blogging is a whole WORLD. It takes time to learn the ins and outs, and Mirina Collections prey on the excitement and naive mindset of upcoming bloggers/vloggers/instagrammers. They violate the basic ethical values every marketer should aspire which are honesty, fairness, respect and openness. A business who engages in a good relationship with their consumers is likely to maintain a long-term healthy business. Mirina Collections is using the illusion of rewarding marketing strategies.

Mirina Collections at New York Fashion Week?

It seems convenient not to mention which designer they will be working with at NYFW.

Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 11.20.06 PM

Lowered Prices?

Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 11.43.28 PM

After being acused of selling the same necklaces found on Amazon for half the price, they have now lowered the prices of their “Famous Statement Necklaces” that were once $129-$190 to now $44-$85.

Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 11.44.17 PM

Mirina Collections, like many other short-term profit businesses, can hear the clock ticking and are stepping their game up meanwhile continuing to make unethical decisions. We are all growing and I hope this serves as a learning experience for you, as it has for me. As bloggers we do want to network and connect with companies, but we need to remind ourselves that networking is a relationship and should benefit both parties. Don’t just wonder whether companies want to work with you, but also whether or not you want to work with THEM.

17 Comments on Mirina Collections: Review

  1. Trish Kruger (@PingTech)
    February 12, 2016 at 7:23 pm (2 years ago)

    Great article!

  2. Tyler
    September 15, 2016 at 3:41 pm (1 year ago)

    I was asked to join them on Insta and I’m so glad to have run across your post. I have such a small following on Instagram and I was obviously excited but I’m more excited to not have to waste my time and money now.

    • Britt
      Britt
      September 16, 2016 at 5:18 pm (1 year ago)

      That is how they prey on people! Those who have small followings get excited to be approached about something like this. I know when they approached me on Instagram, I had like 12k, I now have 27k which even still in the grand scheme of things is small, when there are girls out there with 100k- a million followers, I was soooo excited but once I looked into it my antennas went WAY up. So I did research and came across and internet friend of an internet friend, and me thoughts were confirmed! Melrose wanted to get the story out there so we collabed and I am glad we did, since they are still doing this! A girl I know from my hometown, who has less than a thousand followers was approached by them and began promoting them and I was like NOOOOO! Major scam!

  3. Tyler
    September 16, 2016 at 9:05 pm (1 year ago)

    I only have 27 followers so I was super excited but I had a weird vibe about it from the start. Thanks again for the post!

  4. L
    October 13, 2016 at 2:32 pm (1 year ago)

    Thank you for this post. I have been pondering if I should do it, for marketing my brand purposes. I have read mix reviews. Were the connections you made being affiliated with the brand worth the $60?

    • Britt
      Britt
      October 13, 2016 at 3:16 pm (1 year ago)

      No not at all! The entire thing is a sham, you can order the exact same necklaces on Amazon.com, I know because I did lol, for a third of the price! I didn’t get to know anyone from the collab, most people who are involved are either a) people just starting out and or unfamiliar with the world of branding and social media or b) they are involved with the scam and making money off of it.

  5. Lynda
    October 24, 2016 at 12:06 am (12 months ago)

    Thank you! I was contacted on Instagram today and invited to accept their offer. I am glad I googled first and found this!

  6. nadine
    October 26, 2016 at 11:35 am (12 months ago)

    haha they contacted me as well..this time there’s free shipping but i would have to pay for the necklace itself with a Discount code for 100..so i had to pay at least 35-40 for the “so expensive” necklace..i think that’s all a huge scam..they tell you such a great Story about their buisiness and make you think you’re Special but in trouth there just try to sell their product..honestly i don’t really think that These necklaces are worth over 130 dollars and more..
    at the beginning i tought that i get the necklace for free but i will not pay for that

    • Britt
      Britt
      October 26, 2016 at 8:08 pm (12 months ago)

      I was naiive when they contacted me and I bought a necklace with the “discount” and later on found the same necklace on amazon for $15.00… literally the SAME necklace.

  7. Tracy lynn
    December 5, 2016 at 6:11 pm (11 months ago)

    Buyer beware @mirinacollections is a scam!!! This is what your “beautiful shiny necklace” will look like when it arrives. Dull brassy and rusty!! Looks like it’s 60 years old!! The “jewels” are dull are have no shine to them! Don’t waste your time or money on the ambassador program, I fell for it and was ripped off. Another thing they claimed they are US branded. Well it was shipped via china post. Therefore made in china… plus it took me two months to receive the item! I just wouldn’t recommend them. They dont do refunds so they rip you off by issuing cheap jewelry and keep your money.. they are making a killing off of fools like us. No more from this girl!!!

    • Britt
      Britt
      December 6, 2016 at 12:42 am (11 months ago)

      Can I ask you when this happened to you? I am curious because this is now my second time dealing with them and they are supposedly changed owners, and buyers and are trying to turn the company around. Thanks!

      • Tracy lynn
        December 6, 2016 at 10:34 am (11 months ago)

        I purchased on oct 20 and just got my shipment yesterday. They told me they did all their business out of US but it came shipped from china post. Such bad quality too. It just looks like something you would get from the dollar store.

        • Britt
          Britt
          December 7, 2016 at 1:46 pm (11 months ago)

          Wow that’s crazy. That makes me really mad because they sent me a package and it was all beautiful and they assured me that they were a whole new business under new ownership, and that they were working to reform their image. It’s very funny because my package came from the U.S. They must still be scamming people. I’m sorry to hear that happened to you 🙁

          • Tracy lynn
            December 7, 2016 at 2:09 pm (11 months ago)

            Yep they sure are… i have pictures and the package I saved everything. I reported to the BBB and federal trade commission. I am not one to mess with. I don’t like to be scammed and then be refused a refund.

  8. Giselle Hinterholz
    June 26, 2017 at 10:12 am (4 months ago)

    So I can buy right in amazon, I received the invitation to be an ambassador of Mirina, I bought the jewelry yesterday

Leave a Reply